BLOGGER TEMPLATES AND TWITTER BACKGROUNDS »

Thursday, May 17, 2012

It's official

I am officially a Pre-Radiography student! Now I have a few more classes to take to get in to the clinical portion of the program. Also I need to get a CNA license, which I can do anywhere. It's time to really buckle down and make sure I get A's in my remaining classes before applying to the clinical portion of the program. They only admit 24 students per Spring and Fall semester. It's pretty competitive. So I need to make sure I work hard and get the best grades I can get. I'm just trying to give myself the best opportunity to give myself a better life. Once I complete the radiology portion I will try and move on to the CT/MRI program. We'll see how this goes.

Thursday, May 3, 2012

Goodness gracious

It has been a busy few months. I signed up for two classes this semester, Math and Chemistry. Just had the finals this week and things are settling down for the summer. It's been very hard working full-time, going to school, and rebuilding a house.

The house had some issues, and we ended up tearing down a little less than half of it. About 600 sq. ft., leaving us with the original house sans addition. It's good it we took it down, and I became quite proficient with a sledgehammer. Six dumpsters later and we were back on track. I managed to get all the appliances for the house for about $1700. This includes a frech door refrigerator, vent hood/ microwave combo, double oven gas stove, and a super fancy dishwasher. Thank you Sears scratch and dent outlet, and the nice woman on Craigslist that wanted a stainless steel fridge instead of a white one. Now all the electrical has been redone, the plumbing has been removed and replaced, the yard has been cleaned up, floors in the kitchen and bathroom have been pulled up, the list keeps going and going. Needless to say we've been busy.

The classes I took are now over and I did pretty well, B's in both classes. I am totally fine with this. Now the pre-req classes are done I can sign up for the Radiology program. It will take me a while to get through it all, but in the end it will be worth it.

I ended having to take 3 months off from skydiving during this whole process, this made me sad. Plus I had to have a recurrency jump when I finally did make it back to the dropzone. I will not take 3 months off again, if I can help it. I missed it too much. I was invited to join a competition team this summer, but with the house still a work in progress I don't have the time or funds for competition this year. Next year for sure!

Work is still good, and I like everyone I work with. It's nice to enjoy being at work for a change. I have no problem staying there while I continue to go to school. That's a least a few more years.

All in all, life keeps getting better. Slowly sometimes, but I'll take it.

Tuesday, January 17, 2012

Let's start this year off right.

It's a new year, and so much has happened. Last semester I got "A"s in both of my classes, so I signed up for two more this semester. In December I completed my 50th jump and got my "B" skydiving license. This means I am allowed to learn new skills, like night jumping! New Year's Eve was nice, Clay and I celebrated 5 years together. We also finally bought a house! It's a fixer and a foreclosure, but it was a great deal! We closed on Jan. 6th and we've already done quite a bit. We are tearing down basically half of the house! We'll build back eventually, but there was unpermitted electrical work and some mold issues. Not to mention the foundation was crap. So off it goes, the rest of the house is fine. It's got a nice big yard for the dogs to enjoy. 2012 has started off pretty good.

Sunday, August 21, 2011

Still here

It's been a long time since I've written anything. I haven't really written anything on my other blog either. I guess I've just gotten away from it. So I guess it's time for a little update.

In April I finally got my skydiving license! It was the best feeling in the world to accomplish that goal. I have continued to jump when I can and recently bought my very own rig. That opens up a whole world of jumping opportunities. I took a canopy course last weekend, which was pretty awesome. Next week it's water training! I'm doing what I can to learn more and more about the sport. I'd love to be one of those women you read about in Parachutist or Blue Skies magazine. I'll keep learning and try to get better and better.

I have also started going back to school. I never went to college. Well I tried for a few months when I was 18 but it wasn't for me. So 18 years later, I started again. My first class was during summer semester and I was 0.3 points away from an A. It's a B on my transcript, but it was still an accomplishment for me. My first college credit. This semester I'm taking two classes, Math and Psychology. I'm not really sure what degree I'm going to pursue, I'm just trying to find a way to better my life.

I guess that's what I have to do. Find things that make me happy and go for it. There is no plan for life that's laid out for anyone. We each make our life plan. One small decision can change everything. You just have to find a way to be happy on a daily basis while keeping your eye on the big picture.

Some other decisions I've made is to cut some people out of my life. I know it sounds drastic. Do you ever have those "friends" that only call when they want something? I did, and last week I called them out on it. They are no longer my friend, and somehow I became the bad guy. I don't really care, call me the bad guy. Go ahead and talk shit about me to whoever will listen. It doesn't matter, my life is better without someone that makes me mad. I know this person talks shit about anyone when they are mad at them. So I'm sure I'm on the hitlist this week. Who needs friends like that? Not me. I actually feel much better having it in the open. When you find yourself surrounded by liars, stand up and walk away.

My job is going well, I like it there. Everyone is pretty nice, and I like being there. That makes day to day life pretty good. It's nice not being on call anymore. Life is much better with a regular work schedule. Sweet relief.

There's a little update. Just thought I'd let you know I'm still here. Plugging along. All in all life is pretty good.

Sunday, March 6, 2011

Back and forth

I go back and forth from this blog to another one I have. So sometimes I forget to write in one or the other. Such is life.

I started my new job at a general practice vet clinic. It's so different from specialty practice, but I really like it. I get home at a decent hour, there's no more on-call, everyone is really nice, and it's just so much less stress in my life. I really need that at this point.

February was hard on me. I got the flu and was pretty sick for a couple of weeks. I thought I was getting better until I ended up on the bathroom floor vomiting with a 103 fever. I thought it was the stomach flu that had been going around, but I had a nasty kidney infection. I thought the pain in my side was from being in bed from the first bout of flu, guess I was wrong. I just finished my 10 day course of antibiotics and now I'm back in full force. February was pretty much a loss. Ugh.

So it's spring, and I'm looking forward to warmer weather and life getting back to normal. Well as normal as my life can get. I am hoping I will finally find a way to get what I want in life. I keep trying. I keep looking for new options. I am working on going back to school to just find a way to better my life.

No matter what happens, I will always find a way to stay positive.

Saturday, January 1, 2011

Coming back around

Happy 2011! Everything is slowly getting resolved.

For the first time in I don't even know how long my thyroid levels are finally in a normal range! I have been feeling better, it's nice to know for a fact it's getting under control.

I got a job offer, well a couple actually. I think I can do them both. One of them is an offer as a tech in a general practice veterinary hospital. No more on-call, and reasonable work hours. Hopefully I will not be bored, but we'll see. Everyone there seems very nice and like working there. Most of them have worked there over 10 years. It tells you something on how they treat their employees.

The other job offer is in skydiving, packing parachutes for my local dropzone! This offer makes me super happy because I didn't even think of it as a possibility. I am talking to them when they reopen next week.

The house is not a done deal, but it's not a lost cause. Hopefully now that I have a job again I will be able to qualify for my loan and finally get the house!

I am excited for the year ahead. I am looking forward to some big changes in my life. I can't wait to see where I am this time next year. Good luck to you if you read this, and if you don't.

Monday, December 27, 2010

I guess I'll just keep trying

Christmas was nice, and it was good to be around people that care about me. There is nothing like getting laid off to find out who really cares about you. I got offered a job at the skydiving center, awesome! I can do it part time or full time, I'm going to talk to the DZO when he gets back from vacation, but he had sent me an emil with a job offer.

I had an interview for a general practice I applied to, I am not sure I can do general practice again. I have a working interview tomorrow, and we'll see how that goes and what they offer me. I just weird, they are very doctor dependent and I feel like I might get bored because I won't have to think or be challenged anymore. I'm just not sure about that one yet.

I've also thought about changing career direction all together, just find something new. So I've applied for a job with a little something different than what I'm used to, and I'll see if they even call me back. Ugh, looking for a job during the holiday season sucks.

I did have a wonderful Christmas and I managed to stay upbeat the whole day. (that part has been hard for me) I am looking forward to the new year and the changes that come along with new beginnings. I may not get the house I wanted, but if that's what is meant to be then I will come to terms with that. Everything happens for a reason, and I am being forced in to change I wanted anyway. I know everything will eventually be okay. Bring on the New Year!!! Happier things are heading my way. After all working at the skydiving center would be fantastic!

See I'm doing better today, and I occasionally get a good nights sleep. It would be nice if my brain had an off switch though.

Monday, December 20, 2010

Excuse me while I roll over and die

This past month has been insane, scratch that, the past 4 days! I went to work on Friday and was laid off a week before Christmas. It was a total BS reason, and I'm pretty sure it was financial decision. My feelings are hurt and I don't feel like I can trust anyone. Then later on that afternoon, some good news or so I thought.

It would appear that my house that I've been waiting 3 months to close on can finally close. I found out the day I got fired.I thought it might be okay until this morning. Since it took so long to close my rate lock on my loan expired and I have to start all over, but now I'm unemployed. I am not seeing a home loan in my future.

I am so distraught. I am a good person, with a good heart, and I am getting shafted. I have no idea what to do. I just want to cry, but I'm too angry. I can't sleep at night. I'm just so confused. I applied for a new job this morning and called about an application I had previously submitted somewhere else. I just feel like running away, but I'm an adult now and that doesn't really work. So I'll just sit here and have a mild nervous breakdown

Thursday, November 11, 2010

I keep trying

My biopsy results came back, no cancer. The doc did not really explain what is going on with me and upped my thyroid medication dose. I am feeling better all over. I'll take that as a win since I feel better. Hopefully getting everything under control will put me back in control of my body and give me the chance to have a family of my own before it's too late.

No real word on the house yet, but it's not a dead deal yet. I am staying hopeful that they will accept my offer. It would be easier on the bank if they would sell me the house. It would make me happy and they wouldn't have to deal with foreclosing on the house.

I honestly think that it's my turn for things to go my way. It was a rough summer, but I really think everything balances out in the end. It's time for things to go the direction I've been trying to get them to go. Don't get me wrong, I'm happy. I love my life and the person I get to spend it with. There are just things I want to be better, like my job. I just want something different. I am almost wondering if it's just time for a new career. Maybe I need something different all together.

I don't know, this entry is kind of all over the place. I think I am just rambling the thoughts in my head out. Sometimes that's just what you have to do whether it makes sense to anyone else or not.

Have a good night. I hope your dreams come true and you get what you want in life.

Sunday, October 10, 2010

It wasn't the week I was looking for

Another rough week behind me, but another week is on the horizon. On Tuesday I saw the endocrinologist and he says to me "I'm concerned about the mass on your thyroid". Wait, excuse me? Back up that choo-choo. What mass? This is some fairly important info my regular doc did not give me. So the endocrinologist said he want to do a biopsy, and it would only take about 5 minutes. He proceeded to stab me in the neck four times. It was okay at first, but by the fourth stab I was just about in tears. I couldn't turn my head for the rest of the day. Now it's almost a week later and it feels like I'm getting over strep throat. It made me decide not to go skydiving this weekend. With the pain in my throat, it was best not to have myself jerked around when my chute opens. I can't even sneeze without it hurting right now. I am supposed to call tomorrow and get the results.

You know something, this whole thing is a little overwhelming. I can't even process all of the possible outcomes. I am just going to wait and see what I'm dealing with and go from there. It's the only thing you can do.

Since I didn't get to go skydiving this weekend, I went and got a haircut. Time to change some things up so I cut off my hair. It's super short to me. Shorter than I've had it, for as long as I can remember. I've always had long hair, and now it's just shorter than chin length. How odd. Even more so that it feels natural. I am trying to bring change to me I guess. It's really cute and it makes me feel all spiffy. I like it. My boyfriend's eyes almost popped out of his head. It was cute.

Next week should be interesting. No news on the house yet, but I'm okay with that. One stressful thing at a time please.